

## CITY OF MISSISSAUGA MAYORAL DECISION MDE-0005-2024

## To establish or continue standing committees of Council and to appoint chairs and vice-chairs

Under the authority granted by s. 284.8 of the *Municipal Act, 2001,* and s. 4 of O. Reg. 530/22:

- 1. The following Standing Committees of Council are hereby continued, with the duties, functions, and member composition previously assigned to them by Council:
  - a. General Committee;
  - b. Planning & Development Committee; and
  - c. Audit Committee.
- 2. A new Budget Committee is hereby established to replace the budget committee previously established by Council, with the following responsibilities, composition, and reporting structure:
  - a. The Budget Committee shall be responsible for:
    - i. Meeting a minimum of four (4) times per calendar year, unless otherwise directed by the Mayor;
    - Hearing deputations and questions from the public and receiving staff reports and recommendations regarding the City's operating and capital budgets;
    - iii. providing advice and recommendations to the Mayor regarding the City's operating and capital budgets; and
    - iv. Making recommendations to Council on any operating or capital budget items in which the Mayor has a pecuniary interest.
  - b. The Budget Committee consists of a minimum of six (6) members of Council with four (4) members constituting quorum, and the Mayor as *ex officio* member.



- c. The Budget Committee reports directly to Council on any operating or capital budget items in which the Mayor has a pecuniary interest.
- 3. A Deputy Mayor appointed for the City of Mississauga will chair General Committee.
- 4. The following members of Council are hereby appointed chairs and vice-chairs of the following committees effective June 26, 2024 until the end of the current term of Council:

Committee	Chair	Vice-Chair
General Committee	Matt Mahoney	John Kovac
Planning and Development Committee	Carolyn Parrish	Alvin Tedjo
Audit Committee	Joe Horneck	Chris Fonseca
Budget Committee	Brad Butt	Stephen Dasko

This Mayoral Decision shall be effective as of June 26, 2024.

Original signed by the Mayor

Mayor Carolyn Parrish

Original signed by the City Clerk

Diana Rusnov, City Clerk

Dated: June 26, 2024